A Look at Typography and Photography

Connoisseur Food Magazine Template by Lucidpress https://www.lucidpress.com/pages/templates/magazines/connoisseur-food-magazine-template

I chose this magazine spread because I liked the use of color and photography. The photos have good examples of leading lines, the rule of thirds, and depth of field. This spread also show good use of contrast in type styles.

Typography

Type Styles

This magazine spread uses a variety of font styles to create contrast as well as repetition throughout the spread. The word “DINE” is the largest type on the page and is a nice decorative font with serifs. You can tell that it’s decorative by sketched look of the font. The text directly beneath that, highlighted in red, is a bold sans serif that has an italic style given to it. Sans serif means that the letter don’t have any caps and there is no variation in the width of the strokes. Italic means that the letters are slanted. The main headings, highlighted in green, are done in a large modern typeface with the authors of those sections done in the same font but smaller. Modern font has a serif and a very noticable difference between the wide part of the stroke and the thin part. Also Modern type has a vertical stress which I’ve highlighted in pink on the first heading. The main text of the page is done in a normal sans serif type.

Type Contrast

The designer of this spread did a good job of using fonts to create contrast. The decorative and large “Dine” contrasts in both size and style with the quote beneath it. The artist also contrasted the size of the headings with the size of the author so that even though they are the same font, you know there is a difference between them. They also contrasted the main text by making it sans serif which contrasts with the modern type for the headings. By keeping the same text style consistent for the elements of the same kind, you can see repetition and the page has a very clean and easy to read look to it.

Photography

The 4 photos in this spread are good examples of using the photography rules. Photo #1 has good leading lines as well a very shallow depth of field to create focus on the ends of the forks. Photo number 2 uses the rule of thirds by placing the main subject of the photo in the bottom right of the photo. This photo also uses good depth of field to draw your eye to the main subject. Photo #3 uses depth of field really well. Even though the photo has a lot of different elements, the focus is on the onion and the foreground and background are blurred so it doesn’t look so busy. Finally in photo #4 the photographer uses leading lines to draw the viewer into the photo as well as the rule of thirds by placing the horizon and the rows of wheat the way he did.

My Photos

I chose to recreate two of the photos from the magazine. For the fork picture I tried it with forks, spoons and a fork, knife, and spoon. I used a very low aperture to get the shallow depth of field like in the picture in the magazine and placed the silverware in the same pattern so that my picture would have good leading lines like the example in the spread.

I also wanted to try recreating the onion picture from the original spread. I used a low aperture again and took the picture when there was nice natural light in my kitchen. I think I achieved a fairly similar feel with the produce I had available. I also tried using carrots as the main focal point and I like the leading lines I was able to create with them.

Conclusion

Overall, I think this magazine spread has a lot of really good elements. The use of different type styles makes the page interesting, but not overwhelming. The photos are eye catching and interesting because they utilize the Rule of Thirds, Leading Lines, and Depth of field. Studying these photos and trying to recreate them taught me the value using these rules in my own photography.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started